watercolour basic lessons online

Discuss all topics related to sketching

watercolour basic lessons online

Postby burf » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:51 am

Hello,

Are there any lessons online for an absolute beginner?
burf
familiar face

Re: watercolour basic lessons online

Postby swayne » Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:08 pm

Have you tried searching YouTube?

There's also Strathmore Artist workshops https://www.strathmoreartist.com/artist-studio/ I can recommend workshop 2.
swayne
familiar face

Postby mjs » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:01 pm

The trouble with online watercolor lessons is that there is no simple way of separating the good ones from the less than good ones. After all, my favorite might be your nightmare

That said, on YouTube I like The Spin Doctor and The Mind of Watercolor, for a start. Google can be your friend, at least until you get burned out and decide to put the computer away and grab a brush! Good luck!

Mike
mjs
one of the regulars

Postby burf » Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:56 am

thank you swyane and Mike
burf
familiar face

Postby RajeshS » Tue Oct 11, 2016 3:38 pm

Hi "burf"

I personally purchased a lot of books to learn from - in the beginning.

The reason I mention a book is - there is usually an order in a book - that I don't find in a video. Of course "online or DVD courses" are a different thing - they are probably ordered well.

I learnt some basics a long time ago by reading Alwyn Crawshaw's Watercolor Painting - I am talking 1985-86 :) so dunno if it still even prints.

After that - I purchased many books - and keep learning a useful thing here and there

Finally - nowadays I often view videos - but I personally feel the book is a better way to start - then go to videos

But I leave the judgement to you as you will know best
RajeshS
one of the regulars

Postby mjs » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:04 pm