Beginner Guidance Needed

Discuss all topics related to sketching

Beginner Guidance Needed

Postby DavidS » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:52 pm

Hello Everyone, I am a beinning sketcher and have been following the forum for a few months. I am probably one of the most unartistic people but like to sketch. I like following the Urban Sketchers website. My sketches are poor but I guess you could say I am enthusistic if nothing else. I would like to get better and am ambitious to do so. When I go to an art store I am overwhelmed. I would like to put together a simple urban sketch kit. I am hoping I can tell you what I am planning below and maybe you could comment on my plan? I want my kit to be simple and something I can carry easily. Ideally I would like to do pen sketches and highlight with watercolor. I have only been doing pen sketches to date with Pitt pens, Pilot V5 and V7 pens and a basic moleskine notebook. I have no one to ask with experience about this so I thought I may be able to ask you. Here is what I am thinking:

Strathmore Visual Watercolor Notebook 5x8

Faber Castell Pitt Pens - Black - S,F,B,M - already have.

Pilot V5 and V7 black pens - already have - I know these smear with watercolor so probably won't use with watercolor and will use Pitt pens instead.

Watercolor Paint - I am thinking of setting up a small Altoids tin like I saw online with 6 or 8 or 12 basic colors. I would use the Daniel Smith brand. I would also get a mix chart.

Brushes - I am lost here. What brand and sizes should I get? Would like to get good shorter handled brushes. Someone told me to get a 4 round, 8 round, and a one inch mop wash brush. I see many urban sketchers online using a flat angled brush about 1/4" wide. Can you tell me 4 or 5 brushes I should get and brand?

I am not sure what a wash is! I assume this is just wetting the watercolor paper with water where I will apply paint? Correct?